Guest Scholars

Welcoming global scholars

Since 1999, the Center for the Study of Global Change has been hosting scholars, initially under our Scholars in Residence program, and then, beginning in 2014, under our Guest Scholars program. During their time with us, the scholars have conducted research, delivered talks, and met with students and colleagues. We’re proud of our long history and look forward to many more years of fruitful collaboration and exchange.

Meet the scholars

This comprehensive list of our Scholars in Residence and Guest Scholars is arranged alphabetically.

Guest Scholars 2014 to present
  • Cynthia Enloe – Fall 2016, Research Professor, Clark University, Massachusetts

Scholars in Residence prior to 2014
  • Matthew Connelly – Spring 2013, Professor, Department of History, Columbia University
  • Michael Curtin – Fall 2012, Professor of Global Studies, Department of Film and Media Studies, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Air Marshal Lord Timothy Garden – Spring 2001, Former Executive Director of the Royal Institute of International Affairs, London, United Kingdom
  • John Gearson – Spring 2009, Director, Center for Defense Studies, King's College London
  • Sheldon Gellar – Academic Year 2002 – 2003, Former Senior Research Associate, Africa Unit of the Harry S. Truman Institute for the Advancement of Peace, Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • Sabelo Gumedze – Spring 2009, Senior Fellow, Institute of International Security, Pretoria, South Africa
  • Amy Horowitz – Fall 2011, Academic Year 2012 – 2013, Research Scholar, Department of International Studies, Indiana University Bloomington & The Ohio State University; Research Associate, Mershon Center for International Security Studies, The Ohio State University
  • Ambassador Feisal Amin Rasoul Istrabadi – Academic Year 2007 - 2008, Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Deputy Permanent Representative of Iraq to the United Nations, New York 2004 – 2007
  • Shashikant Karandikar – Spring 2001, Pharmacology, Bharati Vidyapeeth Deemed University, Pune, India
  • Stepanka Korytova – Fall 2010 Semester, Assistant Professor, Charles University
  • Margaret Jean Legum – Fall 1999, Indiana University Distinguished Citizen Fellow, Western Cape, South Africa
  • Anatoliy Mandych – Summer 2010, Professor, Department of Geography, Russian Academy of Sciences
  • Marilu Miranda – Fall 2001, Researcher & Performer, Music of Brazilian Amazonian Indians, Embu, Brazil
  • Carolyn Nordstrom – Spring 2012, Professor, Department of Anthropology, University of Notre Dame
  • Graham Pike – Summers 2002 - 2010, Dean, Department of International Education, Vancouver Island University
  • Lord John Roper – Spring 2010, Chairman, European Union Sub-Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defense and Development Staff
  • Saskia Sassen – Fall 2011, Professor, Department of Sociology, Columbia University
  • Ahmad Shikara – Spring 2009, Member of the Faculty & Researcher, Emirates Center for Strategic Studies and Research, Abu Dhabi, UAE
  • Andre de Mello e Souza – Spring 2009, Assistant Professor, Pontifical Catholic University
  • Balzhun Suzhikova – Fall 1999 Semester, Former Vice-Rector for International Relations, Almaty Abai State University, Almaty, Kazakhstan
  • Isidor Wallimann – Fall 2010, Visiting Research Professor, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs , Syracuse University
  • Gwynifer Clare Wenger – Spring 2000, Professor, Department of Social Gerontology, University of Wales
  • Angene H. Wilson – Summers 1999 - 2001, Professor, College of Education, University of Kentucky
  • Roman I. Zlotin – Spring 1999, Academic Year 2001-2002, Former Senior Research Scientist & Chair, Department of Biogeography, Russian Academy of Sciences